ST 27 VOL. 5 STANDARDS

APPENDIX 1

Standards Committee Hearing Panel (5)

	Independent Persons	<u>Labour</u>	<u>Conservative</u>	Liberal Democrat
	(2)	(1)	(1)	(1)
I. Members	Mrs Bijal Shah (CH) The Reverend Peter Broadbent (VC)	Harrison	Janet Cowan	Miss Lyne (or other Liberal Democrats Member serving on the Standards Committee following Council on 23 October 2003)
II. Reserve Members	-	Ann Groves	Joyce Nickolay	Thornton (or other Liberal Democrats Reserve Member serving on the Standards Committee following Council on 23 October 2003)

Membership Rules

- (1) The membership of The Standards Committee Hearing Panel, to hear local determinations will be five persons (comprising both the Independent Persons and one Elected Member from each of the main political parties, within the Standards Committee Membership);
- (2) the quorum for the Panel hearing a local determination is 3, including at least one of the Independent Persons;
- (3) the Panel hearing a local determination be chaired by one of the Independent Persons;
- (4) the Independent Person to fulfill the function in (3) be appointed by the Standards Committee;
- (5) Members attending a Panel be required to vote on a local determination and not be permitted to abstain.